TBR

TBR | Booktube-A-Thon July 2017

So Booktube-A-Thon is running from July 24-30 this year. I’m aiming for participating, but have to pack up all my possessions again and drive six hours to go look at places to rent next week. So everything is going to be very busy. Thank goodness for graphic novels. It’s possible I might get a video up for this but I’m not broken up over it if it doesn’t happen.


1/ Read a book with a person on the cover.

tyrannyofqueensA Tyranny of Queens by Foz Meadows

This prompt is pretty self explanatory. I read An Accident of Stars last month and really enjoyed it. So when the sequel showed up at the library I grabbed it. There’s not much else I can say about the plot without spoiling the first book but this series is a really interesting twist on the traditional portal fantasy with excellent world building. It’s also super queer which is how I tend to like my fantasy.

 

 


2/ Read a hyped book.

offireandstarsOf Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

There’s been a lot of talk about Of Fire and Stars since it came out and the main consensus appears to be that it’s an adorable YA fantasy about two princesses falling in love. And the few quotes I’ve seen floating around Tumblr sold me on it. I mean, what’s not to love? There’s princesses, horses, political intrigue, murder, romance and magic.

 

 


3/ Finish a book in one day & 5/ Finish a book completely outdoors.

wonderwomanwarWonder Woman: The New 52 by Brian Azzarello

I’m combining challenges three and five together since they’ll be easy to accomplish with these books. I read the first three volumes of this series back when the Wonder Woman movie was released and am now getting around to reading volumes four to eight. They’re pretty quick reads and are easy to understand even though I’ve never read any Wonder Woman comics before.

 

 


4/ Read about a character that is very different from you.

marriageofathousandliesMarriage of a Thousand Lies by S.J. Sindu

Casey the Canadian Lesbrarian did a really in-depth review of Marriage of a Thousand Lies over on Autostraddle last month and I knew that this was a book I had to read. Just out this year, Marriage of a Thousand Lies is part of a small but growing queer South Asian literary scene. It’s a complex story of love and family as the main character Lucky balances between family expectations, her lesbian identity, her facade of a marriage to a gay man, and her reunion with a childhood friend and former lover who has accepted an arranged marriage with a man she’s never met.


6/ Read a book you bought because of the cover.

whiteandblackWhite and Black: Political Cartoons from Palestine by Mohammad Sabaaneh

I didn’t buy this one because I’m primarily a library user but stopped dead in my tracks as I was leaving the library after seeing this cover and went back in to check it out. The art is beautiful and I’m super excited to check this one out.


7/ Read seven books!

Here’s to hoping that this happens!

Leave a comment