ReadAThon · Wrap-Up

[Wrap-up] Every week is #BorrowAThon for me

#BorrowAThon is a ReadAThon that ran from March 19-26. It was the second time this ReadAThon happened and I was happy to join along since library books are practically my entire aesthetic.

I actually only finished one book this week, Devil’s Wake. I did read a paranormal romance but it was so bad I don’t even want to count it as part of this ReadAThon. I did a bit or reading here and there but I’m currently desperately trying to finish my thesis so reading isn’t my top priority these days. But I figured I’d talk about the books I read last week and am still currently reading.

 

The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking. I’ve been trying to read more non-fiction this year and after learning the definition of hygge, a Danish term conveying a quality of cosiness and comfortable, I decided I needed to read more about it. Winter has been hard these past years. This is a cute little book with really nice visuals but gets a bit repetitive. It reminds me a bit of the The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, in that it introduces some good concepts in the first few chapters and then spends the rest of the book repeating them. I’m still planning on finishing it though and this would probably be an excellent book for someone who’d never heard of hygge

Who Fears Death by Nnedi OkoraforI’m trying to finished up the r/fantasy bingo 2016 reading challenge and Who Fears Death is one of the last books I have to read for it. I’ve heard really good things about it and am a bit disappointed that I’m having trouble getting into it. The story is really interesting but I’m having trouble with the writing style and the characters. The beginning of the book felt like a lot of telling rather than showing. It’s started to pick up a little more since I’ve kept going but I unfortunately think this isn’t going to be one of my favourites.

For Your Safety Please Hold On by Kayla CzagaSince I’m currently so busy I’ve been finding myself gravitating to poetry. It’s nice to just read a couple poems here and there when you’ve got the time for them, rather than feeling guilty about not reading giant novels. Kayla Czaga’s poetry was recommended to me by a friend and I managed to find a copy at the library. I’ve really enjoyed the poems I’ve read so far, Czaga writes a lot about her family, particularly her relationship with her father and her mother. There’s some beautiful little poems that make me reread them over and over and shred my heart. I’ll definitely have to read this collection more than once.

Devil’s Wake by Steven Barnes and Tananarive DueFor the r/fantasy bingo 2016 reading challenge, one of the squares is a book written by two or more authors. And since I’m doing a card of books written by authors of colour and Indigenous authors, I set out to find a book written by two authors who were both people of colour. That proved almost nearly impossible and after a lot of searching I found Devil’s Wake, a YA zombie post-apocalypse novel with some romance thrown in. Steven Barnes and Tananarive Due are a married couple and are both accomplished speculative fiction authors on their own. Devil’s Wake is the first book in this series that they wrote together. I enjoyed this book, it was a nice, quick read that I read while I was sick last week. However, I found the characters weren’t deep enough for my preferences. That’s a problem I’m finding that I’m having with a lot of YA fiction these days now that I’ve realized I like deeply character driven novels. Still it was a fun year and I’d recommend it to someone who enjoys YA fiction.

Fifteen Dogs by André AlexisI read Fifteen Dogs last year for CanLit Bingo 2016 and loved it so much I decided to read it again, this time in audiobook format. Fifteen Dogs is a really interesting, excellent allegory about human nature, intelligence, humanity, culture and society as Hermes and Apollo grant 15 dogs human intelligence as part of a bet. I’m pretty new to audiobooks, having only listened to two before. I’m really liking the narration for this book, as it’s narrated by the author and Alexis does a really good job.

Arrival by Ted ChiangThis collection of short stories has been on my radar for a while now, well before the movie came out. And I haven’t seen the movie yet but it did remind me that I should put a library hold on it though before there’s a rush of people who saw the movie wanting to read it. I love this collection, so, so much. It’s everything I love in sci-fi and short fiction. Chiang has a really good skill to be able to tell these stories and ideas in such few pages. I’m reading against the clock with this one since it’s so popular at the library that I can’t renew it. But this is such a good collection that I recommend everyone consider reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

