Queer Lit Bingo 2016 · Review

[Review] Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

labyrinth-lost

Title: Labyrinth Lost

Author: Zoraida Córdova

Published by: Sourcebooks Fire

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Where I got the book: Public Library

Despite Alex being the most powerful bruja in her family in a generation, she hates magic and desperately wants nothing to do with it. So she hatches a plan to rid herself of her powers on her Deathday celebration, only to have it go horribly wrong. Her entire family vanish into thin air, as if they never existed.

The only person left is Nova, a brujo boy Alex isn’t sure she can trust. But desperation creates the strangest of friendships and Nova agrees to guide Alex through Los Lagos, a land in-between, to find her family, but for a price. Alex and Nova must then travel through the dangerous land of Los Lagos, to be joined later by Alex’s best friend Rishi, and save Alex’s family, if they manage to stay alive.

I wanted so badly to love this book. And I enjoyed it but it’s become painfully clear to me that for the first time since aging outside of the YA target audience age group that YA just isn’t as enjoyable to me anymore. This has been happening over the past year but Labyrinth Lost was the book that solidified my realization. This is one of the reasons why I rated the book at 3 stars although my personal feelings about it were actually around a 2. This book just didn’t do it for me but I know my 16 year old self would have loved it.

If this book had been available when I was in high school I probably would have devoured it, gone to class on little to no sleep and start passing it around to my friends. I mean it’s got all the things I loved to read about as a teen, magic, love triangles (I’m an occasional fan), epic quests, brooding male love interests, queer characters, tender and adorable first kisses, romance, etc!

But now that I’m an adult I think I’ve sadly mainly grown out of brooding male love interests, or need more complicated plots and prose since I’ve started reading fantasy doorstopper novels. The plot dragged for a bit in the middle as the characters wandered around and I felt it never quite managed to pick itself back up to a point that I was super invested. I don’t want to discourage anyone from checking out Labyrinth Lost. It’s got a ton of rave reviews and lots of people love it. It just sadly didn’t work for me.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

    1. Excellent question! Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey if you’re looking for a bi protagonist. Inda by Sherwood Smith if you’re looking for complex politics. The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu if you’re looking for lots of battles and unique worldbuilding.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

