Stats · Wrap-Up

[Wrap-Up] January Stats and Wrap-up

This is being posted embarrassingly late. I was overambitious with my blogging plans in January then ran out of spoons near the end of the month, leading me to abandon a bunch of half written blog posts, reviews and big plans that were never actually executed.

Anyhow, January. Lovely January with its snow, rain, freezing rain, and more snow. Did I mention snow? Canada tends to have a lot of it. Lovely month for reading though, to the detriment of my thesis.

I read a total of 23 books in January, which is a bit less than I would normally. But generally I tend to pad out my reading with lots of graphic novels and manga and didn’t read any. I think all my ambitious planning had me feeling very literary so I stuck with novels, some poetry and short stories. The stats breakdown of my reading habits is pretty SFF heavy last month with over 50% of books read, primarily because I’m desperately trying to finish the r/fantasy 2016 bingo before the challenge ends.

Reading highlights of the month include:

  • Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler
  • Imaro by Charles R. Saunders
  • Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
  • This Strange Way of Dying by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Love Will Burst Into a Thousand Shapes by Jane Eaton Hamilton
  • The Just City by Jo Walton

I’m actually so in love with The City Just that I immediately went out to grab the sequel.

February has started out strong though. Here’s to hoping that I can keep it at that pace while paying more attention to school work. I’ve got a number of fantasy doorstoppers to get through in the next two months.

The plan for blogging is to get back on the horse with a much more manageable schedule of three posts a week and do the same with instagram. Maybe if I’m feeling particularly creative I’ll take more photos but don’t really want to make more pressure for myself.

Anyways, back to work now (I’m writing this on break). Happy reading.

 

 

2 thoughts on “[Wrap-Up] January Stats and Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

