ReadAThon · Wrap-Up

[Wrap-up] #DAReadAThon Wrap-Up

dareadathon-id-hufflepuffinfo

#DAReadAThon was one of the harder readathons I’ve done. Not because the books I read were hard or uninteresting, but because I’m really, really bad at making a TBR and then sticking to it. I’m very much a mood reader, reading multiple books at once and always getting distracted by the next, shiny looking book.

I really wanted to read all seven books I’d planned but only finished three. And I’m fine with that. In order I finished:

  • Forbidden by Beverly Jenkins
  • She of the Mountains by Vivek Shraya
  • Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord

I also managed to review Forbidden and Redemption in Indigo, and a review of She of the Mountains is forthcoming!

I’m still working my way through Accessing the Future and City of Strife. Accessing the Future is hands down one of the best anthologies I’ve ever read and I’m only half way through it. I’m super excited to finish it later this month and review it. I unfortunately slacked on reading City of Strife because it wasn’t a library book and didn’t feel as urgent. I’m hoping to start it up again sometime next week though.

The two books I didn’t get to are Feminism is for Everybody and The Price of Salt. I started Feminism is for Everybody but wasn’t really feeling it due to school starting up and decided to put it down rather than forcing it. There’s no excuse for not picking up The Price of Salt except for the fact that I accidentally ended up going on a fantasy binge.

Although I didn’t finish all my TBR I did read three other diverse books that can tally towards my #DAReadathon points.

  • The Briefcase by Hiromi Kawakami
  • Love Will Burst Into a Thousand Shapes by Jane Eaton Hamilton
  • Imaro by Charles Saunders

All of them were excellent, I reviewed The Briefcase here, and reviews of the other two are forthcoming.

All in all, after doing the math that’s 151 points, six excellent books read, plus a bunch more that didn’t count for this ReadAThon.

As fun as it was though, I’m not sure if I’ll participate more in structured ReadAThons like this again. I do much better in reading challenges with no TBRs and loose goals like #Diverseathon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

