Review

Review | The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley

the geek feministThe Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley

Published by: Tor Books

Where I got the book: Public Library

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Geek Feminist Revolution is an absolutely fantastic collection of essays on feminism in science fiction and fantasy cultures and communities. Broken into 4 different parts, writing, culture, personal, and revolution, Hurley grounds abstract feminist theory within her own life and experience as an author. This is honestly one of the most self-affirming nonfiction books I’ve ever read, as I alternated between anger, rage, wanting to cry, and fierce pride and joy. The Geek Feminist Revolution is a book I’ve been unknowingly waiting for ever since I was a child and first learned to sense the discrepancy between my home where my interests in science fiction and fantasy were celebrated, and the outside world where I constantly felt I had to justify my interests and inclusion into sci-fi gaming and fantasy communities despite having played D&D since the age of 11 and having grown up reading almost nothing but fantasy novels, praying for faeries and dragons to be real.

I am not a long time reader of Hurley’s blog, although I have read her 2014 Hugo award-winning essay “We Have Always Fought: Challenging the ‘Women, Cattle, and Slaves’ Narrative” multiple times. Several other reviews I’ve read have mentioned that this book doesn’t contain much new material if you’re already a long-time reader of Hurley’s blog. However this collection is so good that it’s worth a reread even if you’re already familiar with some of the material.

This was one of the best books I’ve read this year so far and really recommend it to anyone who is a part of the sci-fi and fantasy community or who has felt that they don’t belong for any number of reasons. Because as Hurley states, that’s been changing for a number of years and has finally reached mainstream consciousness. And we are winning the revolution, slowly but surely. The fight is not over yet though and there still is a lot of work to do. I’m looking forward to reading more of Hurley’s work, both fiction and non-fiction.

Leave a Reply

